Roasted Squash Seeds

P1120850

Remember those seeds I saved from my squash soup a couple of weeks ago?

P1120273

That was the first squash. Since then, I’ve used 2 more, a spaghetti squash:

P1120493

And one of these funny-looking things, which I think is called a scallop squash:

P1120826 P1120828

That gave me enough seeds to fill up a little Le Parfait jar, and since they were starting to smell a bit (I can’t have washed them properly..) it was definitely time to use them, before they became High Offley (see the end of this post)

I am an advocate of using every part of a food product, be it meat or vegetable. It makes me feel a little bit sick and a big bit angry when I hear about how much of the precious food we grow on this earth ends up in the bin. That’s a rant for a different day, or possibly a few different days. (I once filled my tiny 16 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ x 12″ freezer half up with vegetable peelings to make vegetable stock with.)
Besides, I paid for those squash, and I was jolly well going to extract every last shred of goodness from them!
We are always told how good Pumpkin seeds are for us, and a pumpkin is just a big, more commercially-known squash, right? So, by my logic, it follows that squash seeds are just as yummy, and just as good for you.So, ignoring the odd lone voice that said that they weren’t that nice, I set to (quite a lot of) work.

Roasted squash seeds

Based on this recipe.

Squash seeds
Coconut oil or olive oil
Herbamare or fine salt with whatever herbs or spices you like

The first thing to do is to separate the slimey, stringy innards from the seeds. This is tedious, messy, and nearly made me jack in the whole idea a few times. But my good side won through.
Once the seeds are separate from the rest, stick them in a bowl with some cold water, and squeeze them around in your hand to try and remove the remains of the slime. Rinse and repeat. Do this a number of times, until they are clean.

P1120269

If you’re saving them until you have a few more, then let them dry on a tea cloth overnight, or until completely dry before storing them.

If you’re using them straightaway, put them into a pan of cold water with a good handful of salt. Bring to the boil and simmer for 5-10 minutes.
Now is also a good time to preheat the oven to 170C.

Drain the seeds and pat mostly-dry with a towel.

Put just enough oil into a baking tray to cover the bottom. If using coconut fat, you’ll need to put it over a hotplate, or into the preheated oven, to melt it so it can coat the whole base of the tray.
Put the seeds onto the baking tray and mix them around to coat them with oil. Spread them out so they don’t overlap too much. I found the best way was to spread them roughly and then use the back of a fork to pat them flat and break apart any that were sticking together.
Sprinkle with the Herbamare (which is a seasoning salt available over here, containing things like celery leaves, leek and herbs) or salt with spices.

P1120839

Put the seeds in the oven. After 7-8 minutes take the tray out and give the seeds a stir. Put it back for another 7-8 minutes, or until the seeds are light brown and crispy (the best way to check this is to eat some!) Keep an eye on them, it wouldn’t take much to turn them into blackened little bitties.

P1120840

Let them cool before putting them in an airtight container to store.

P1120842

Delicious! (And very more-ish..)

If anyone knows a better, quicker way to clean the seeds, please let me know, I’d happily not spend quite so long doing that part!

Leave a Reply

