My Red Dolman

 

P1170111

This is the jumper that I started knitting at the beginning of the summer. I finished it a while back, but in all honesty, I completely forgot about it, it hasn’t been a summer for sitting out long into the evenings which is what it was really intended for. More fool me! I did wear it a couple of times though, and managed to get a few snaps from The Long-Suffering Boy.

I knitted it to try and use up some cotton yarn (or 85% cotton, 15% polyester) that was in my stash, an impulse buy in a wool sale. I knitted it dolman-style, starting at the end of the right sleeve in the round, knitting up to the right shoulder, increasing as I went, attempted short rows for a bit of shoulder-shaping, and then divided for the front and back. Since I’d made a swatch before hand, I thought I knew roughly how many rows I needed to knit to get the width I wanted, so I shaped the neck line as I went, and when I arrived at the centre, I put my instructions into reverse to knit the left-hand side.

Turns out, it’s not as easy as just making a swatch and then hoping. Perhaps I should have made a larger swatch for more accuracy, because the body is much tighter than I intended. The arms are fine, and the neckline is ok, although, again, not as wide as I wanted, and slightly pointy… For now, I crocheted around the bottom (in an attempt to stop it rolling up,) I’ve thought about making some panels to go in the sides to make it wider, I can always unpick the side seams to insert them, but that’s a project for another time (who am I kidding?)

Anyway, make of it what you will.

P1170108 P1170114  P1170110

P1170104

(Yes, that tree is in the water. I told you it was a rubbish summer. Quite Anglo-Saxon, in fact.)

 

Leave a Reply

