Up to the farm

P1120327

I often think of Switzerland as being how I imagine the 1950s were in Britain. In a sort of futuristic way. In some ways that’s good, in others, not so.

But one of the things that I love about where I live, is that just at the top of the hill is a dairy farm, and on the side of one of the barns is a milk vending machine. Yup, coins in, milk out. Fresh, creamy, organic milk. That you have to shake to mix the cream into the milk. And open 24 hours a day in case you have a milk emergency in the middle of the night! (You never know.)

So once a week I put the empty bottles in my rucksack, remember to take my camera and take myself off up the hill (and up 302 steps.) At the top I say Grüezi to one of the farm cats, fill up my bottles, buy some eggs, and come back. It’s perfect, a 40 minute walk to get me out into the countryside, and when the weather’s good, the views across the valley, and on clear days even into the south of Germany, can be lovely. So here are some pictures from this evening.

P1120168

P1120164

P1120165

P1120331

P1120316

P1120321P1120337P1120332P1120341P1120355P1120359

That’s all for now, folks!

5 thoughts on “Up to the farm

    1. Yes it is! :) But I didn’t know about it then. The milk is sooo yummy, and it has about 3cm cream sitting on the top before you shake it… not so good for my skin… :D

Leave a Reply

